Together we can make a difference.

Our Board of Directors are responsible for Care for Africa's overall performance and compliance.

The Board provides effective governance, leadership and strategic direction for our organisation.

Mrs Diana Butler ​OAM GAICD

CEO + Co Founder– Volunteer

In 2016, Diana Butler was awarded an Order of Australia Medal for her work as the CEO of the organisation and her service to the people of Tarime. Diana Co- Founded Care for Africa with her colleague the late Dr Peter Hewitt in 2006. Since this time Diana has led the organisation from strength to strength driving innovation and change and being at the cusp of international development initiatives. Diana is also employed by the Launceston General Hospital as the After Hours Nurse Manager.  Diana is also a Director of St Giles Society Inc. Diana is married with 3 boys and a grandchild and lives in Launceston.

Dr John Wettenhall​ OAM

Chair – Volunteer

John studied medicine at Melbourne University. He then served in the Army. Three years were spent in Singapore. During that time he developed an interest in Tropical Medicine, and later as an Active Reserve officer he commanded the 3rd Preventive Medicine Company. His first active involvement in WASH occurred then. Having qualified as a Consultant Physician and Gastroenterologist he spent 17 years on the Mornington Peninsula before coming to Launceston in 1993. 

Mr Chris Dockray

Vice Chair – Volunteer

Born in Zambia, Chris is a lawyer in Launceston. He graduated from the University of Tasmania (UTAS) in 1983 and worked with Zeeman Kable and Page for eleven years before setting up in private practice in 1995. He has been a member of the Workers Compensation Tribunal, the Anti Discrimination Tribunal and the Law Society Disciplinary Tribunal. Since 1989, he has been a Director of the St. Luke’s Medical and Hospital Benefits Association and is its current Chair. Chris lives in Karoola and is married with three children. 

Mr Ross Hart

Public Officer – Volunteer

Ross Hart resides in Launceston where he has been practising as a lawyer since 1985. He was a partner of the firm Rae and Partners until 2016 when he was elected to Federal Parliament. He is currently practising in his own legal practice with an emphasis upon commercial and litigious areas including commercial litigation. He is a past President of the Law Society of Tasmania, and as a parliamentarian served as a member of the Joint Parliamentary Public Accounts and Audit Committee, was Deputy Chair of the Joint Committee on Trade and Investment Growth and served on the Parliamentary ICT Advisory Board.

Mr Mark O’Brien

Treasurer– Volunteer

Mark has been a Principal of Camerons Accountants and Advisors for 25 years with over 40 years experience in Public Practice in Australia and overseas.  Mark graduated from the Tasmanian State Institute of Technology in 1988 before travelling and working in the United Kingdom and Hong Kong before returning to Tasmania to complete his professional studies to become a Chartered Accountant.  Mark has previously acted as a board member for Epilepsy Tasmania and on several industry advisory boards.

Mr Ralph Norton

Director – Volunteer

Ralph completed a Bachelor of Economics, a Diploma of Education, and a Certificate in Business Management in his home state of Victoria. He moved to Tasmania in the early 1980’s to further his passion for tourism and hospitality. Ralph is the Managing Director of his hospitality group, Altrex Investments, and is the founder of national pub group Irish Murphy’s. He is also Managing Director of Tasmanian based company Roadside Products Pty Ltd, which manufactures and distributes both nationally and internationally.

Mrs Sophie Folder​

Director – Volunteer

Sophie Folder provides specialist project consultancy services in the areas of people management, delivery of extension programs and sustainable use of agricultural resources. Sophie has volunteered with Care for Africa for seven years assisting with grant writing, project evaluation and reporting, strategic planning and fundraising. Sophie joined the Care for Africa board in 2018 and is leading accreditation group working towards gaining Australian Council for International Development (ACFID) membership and Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) accreditation.

Dr Selena Saykao

Director – Volunteer

Selena (MBBS) was born in Melbourne and currently works as a General Practitioner at the New Town Skin Cancer Clinic. She graduated from UTAS in 2009. Her interest in international health and development has motivated her to work in countries such as Vanuatu, Nepal, India, Philippines and Tanzania. Dr Saykao is enjoying Coordinating the Health Programs for Care for Africa and looking forward to what the future holds for the organisation.